Why does the app need Symlinks?

May 15, 2016 at 9:30 AM
I just started writing my own (very basic) Powershell script to do backups with 7-zip and then found your project. No need to reinvent the wheel right?

Even though I am a powershell novice, I am quite curious as to why Symlinks are required? And the flow on effect of needing to set friendly container names.

It' just an interesting design decision I would like to enquire about, because it just seems unnecessarily complicated to my untrained eye.

Keep up the good work otherwise Andrea!
Coordinator
May 15, 2016 at 11:42 AM
Edited May 15, 2016 at 11:57 AM
Hi SMG1,
the need for symlinks endorsed by the script came out from older versions of 7-Zip: I was not able to force 7-zip to archive from different sources due to an "Duplicate file name error". You can find find a sample here : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12675246/zipping-files-with-the-same-name-in-different-folders-using-7z-listfile-feature

Having 7-Zip to parse a list of files to archive where paths were always relative to a single root seemed to solve the issue: so i resolved to create a virtual directory tree (with one root only holding junctions to all different sources) making everything relative.

Friendly names (or aliases) where an effort to give, of course, a meaningful label within the archive but also to shorten, as much as possible, the full path of files: so a directory named "Blablablablablablablablablablabla" could be shortened in the archive without touching it's original name in the filesystem.

From that initial effort the script came out with new directives (mostly based on regular expressions) which help the user to perform additional actions during file discovery (eg. delete unneeded files) or to create complex filtering rules to archive only what is really needed. The script also optionally keeps directory structure creating dummy files in empty directories which, otherwise, would never be archived by 7-zip.